Dakota Wesleyan vs. Concordia, 5.3

Concordia's Logan Ryan scores on a two-run single by teammate Christian Meza in the eighth inning on Friday at the GPAC Tournament in Seward. Concordia defeated Dakota Wesleyan 6-3.

After leading Concordia to one of its best seasons in program history, Ryan Dupic was named Great Plains Athletic Conference coach of the year Wednesday.

His top offensive player, second baseman Christian Meza, was named the conference's player of the year.

Meza is the first Bulldog to receive the award. He ranks first in school history in doubles (51), second in hits (213), second in RBIs (141) and seventh in batting average (.341).

The San Diego native is hitting .343 this season with 14 doubles, three homers and 40 RBIs.

Under Dupic, Concordia won a league-record 23 games, en route to the GPAC regular-season championship. The Bulldogs also clinched a spot in the NAIA Tournament.

Six Concordia players were named to the first team. Joining Meza was junior outfielder Wade Council, junior pitchers Jake Fosgett, Jason Munsch and Sasha Jabusch, and senior reliever Dylan DuRee.

Doane's Eduardo Yanez was named to the first team as a designated hitter.

Dakota Wesleyan's Ryan Dupic was named the conference's pitcher of the year.

First team: Drake Pilat, Jamestown, sr., 1B; Christian Meza, Concordia, sr., 2B; Jaden Yackley, Jamestown, sr., 3B; Wes Anderson, Dakota Wesleyan, sr., SS; Mason Townsend, Mount Marty, so., UTL; Tanner Roundy, Jamestown, sr., OF; Wade Council, Concordia, jr.; OF; Andrew Kasperbauer, Morningside, sr., OF; Rodney Scarver, Briar Cliff, sr., OF; Matt Abdelnour, Midland, jr., C; Brady Harpenau, Briar Cliff, C, jr.; Jake Fosgett, Concordia, jr., P; Dom Boerger, Dakota Wesleyan, jr., P; Jason Munsch, Concordia, jr.; P; Sasha Jabusch, Concordia, jr.; P; Dylan DuRee, Concordia, sr, RP; Eduardo Yanez, Doane, sr, DH.

Second team: Austin Hamilton Midland, jr., 1B; Reed Harter Dakota Wesleyan, jr., 2B; Ben De Boer Northwestern, so., 3B; Drew Schutt Northwestern, jr., SS; Infielder Austin Zylstra Northwestern, sr., UTL; Justin Miller Mount Marty, sr., OF; Drew DeMers Dakota Wesleyan, so., OF; Sutton Derr Northwestern, so, OF; Aaron Mason Doane, jr., OF; Chase Hacker Jamestown, jr., OF; Zachary Rosson Northwestern, jr., C; Billy Hancock Mount Marty, fr., C; Blake Svoboda Mount Marty, jr., P; Kensaku Akiya Jamestown, jr., P; Tanner Roundy Jamestown, sr., P; Nick Cole Briar Cliff, jr., P; Nick Iossi Mount Marty, jr., RP; Jesse Garcia Concordia, fr., DH.

Honorable mention: Briar Cliff—Connor Christiansen, Kainoa Navas, Sawyer Olson, Dalen Blair; Concordia—Tanner Wauhob, Logan Ryan, Ryan Samuelson; Dakota Wesleyan—Kyle Bailey, Gunnar Johnson, Ethan Davis, Gavin Reichmuth, Chandler Bakley; Doane—Lukas White, Trent Jeary, Austin Narro, Talon Little, Jaryn Nakamoto, Bradley Bero, Brady McMurray; Dordt—Logan Cline, Lucas Nelson, Luke Drooger, Cameron Pfafman; Hastings—Camden Brichacek, Cole Staab, Grant Svec, Dylan Fitzgerald; Midland—James Scurto, Andrew Snook, Bryan Smith, Daylon Owens, James Kaiser; Morningside—Dylan Gasner, Levi Davidson, Aaron Homme, Camden Parks, Elliot Conover, Nicholas Metcalf, Colby Seuntjens; Mount Marty—Colin Muth, Alec Martin, DJ West, Arthur Gallegos; Northwestern—Britton Yoder, Brady Roberts, AJ Nitzschke, Mason O’Donnell, Colton Harold; Jamestown—Dakota Nelson, Andrew Reed, Matt Meraz.

Player of the year: Christian Meza, Concordia.

Pitcher of the year: Dom Boerger, Dakota Wesleyan.

Coach of the year: Ryan Dupic, Concordia.


Load comments