Try 3 months for $3
NCAA wrestling 3.21.15

Robert Kokesh (center) celebrates with Nebraska head coach Mark Manning (right) and associate coach Bryan Snyder after finishing third at 174 pounds at the NCAA wrestling championships on Saturday, March 21, 2015 in St. Louis. Kokesh beat Minnesota's Logan Storley 6-4 in sudden victory.

After helping guide Jordan Burroughs and James Green to world medals, Nebraska wrestling coaches Mark Manning and Bryan Snyder are receiving some hardware of their own.

Manning, the Huskers' 18th-year head coach, and Snyder, the team's associate head coach, have been named by USA Wrestling as co-winners of the 2017 Terry McCann Freestyle Coach of the Year award.

Burroughs won a world title in 2017, and Green won a silver medal. Manning and Snyder also work together as coaches for the Nebraska Regional Training Center, where a number of the top men's freestyle wrestlers train.

Burroughs and Green retained their spots on the USA World Team after winning their respective weight divisions at Final X last Saturday at the Devaney Sports Center.

Manning has won the McCann Award three times, to go along with previous honors in 2011 and 2015. Snyder is honored for the first time, and 2017 marks the first year that USA Wrestling has honored two coaches with the award since it was initiated in 1992.


Load comments