Try 1 month for 99¢

The Nebraska wrestling team finalized its 2018 signing class on Tuesday.

The Huskers announced the signings of six prep wrestlers: Anthony Gaona (Overland Park, Kansas), Valentine's Jordan Kelber, Josh Mason (Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania), Jevon Parrish (Olathe, Kansas), Peyton Robb (Owatonna, Minnesota) and Brandyn Van Tassell (Spanish Fork, Utah). The spring signing group also included two transfers in Zeke Moisey from West Virginia, a two-time All-American and 2015 NCAA runner-up, and Christian Lance from Fort Hays State. Moisey will be eligible immediately as a graduate transfer.

Kelber was a three-time Class C state champion at Valentine and is the son of Nebraska national champion wrestler and former NU assistant coach Jason Kelber, who won the 126-pound NCAA title in 1991 and was a three-time All-American. Robb is a three-time Minnesota state champion, Parrish is a two-time Kansas state champion and Van Tassell is a two-time Utah state champion.

Brock Hardy (Brigham City, Utah), Jake Silverstein (Smithtown, New York) and Alex Thomsen (Neola, Iowa) signed during the November period. Thomsen is a one of the most accomplished prep wrestlers in Iowa history as a four-time state champion with a 190-1 career prep record. Hardy is a four-time state champion and, along with Van Tassell, will join the Huskers in 2020 after two-year Mormon missions.


Load comments