NU Soccer vs. Oregon State, 8.26.18

Nebraska's Sinclaire Miramontez (top) celebrates her goal against Oregon State with teammate Brenna Ochoa (28) and Caroline Buelt (17) on Aug. 26 at Hibner Stadium. 

Nebraska junior defender Sinclaire Miramontez was named to the All-Big Ten first team Friday.

The Lenexa, Kansas, native started the season's first 17 games and played nearly every minute before suffering a season-ending knee injury last week at Wisconsin.

It marks the second straight year Miramontez has been named to the All-Big Ten first team.

Senior Faith Carter was named to the second team, senior Savanah Uveges was named to the third team and Kenzie Coons was selected to the all-freshman team.

Carter, in her only season with the Huskers, scored a team-high nine goals, which ranked third in the Big Ten. Her 20 overall points ranked fifth in the league, and she scored eight goals over the team's final 13 games.

Uveges totaled 20 points during the regular season, including eight goals.

NU senior Michaela Loebel earned the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Nebraska.

The Big Ten's top awards went to Penn State's Erica Dambach (coach of the year), Minnesota's April Bockin (forward of the year), Penn State's Emily Ogle (midfielder of the year), Penn State's Kaleigh Riehl (defender of the year), Devon Kerr (goalkeeper of the year) and Rutgers' Meagan McClelland (freshman of the year).


Load comments