Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Preseason Big Ten media poll pegs NU men's hoops toward bottom of league

  • Updated
  • 0
NU men's basketball practice, 10.5

The Nebraska men's basketball team was picked 11th in a preseason poll of the league's media.

The Nebraska men's basketball team was picked 11th by the league's media members in an unofficial media poll released Wednesday.

The Huskers were picked anywhere from ninth to 13th by the 28 voters. NU was picked to finish 13th last season.

Bryce McGowens got one vote as the preseason freshman of the year with Michigan's Caleb Houstan (20) and Michigan State's Max Christie (seven) getting the other votes.

Michigan and Purdue were picked first and second, respectively, with the Wolverines getting 13 first-place votes and the Boilermakers getting 12. Illinois was picked third, receiving the other three first-place votes.

Illinois' Kofi Cockburn was the pick for preseason player of the year, receiving 11 votes.

Cockburn also led the preseason all-Big Ten team, receiving 27 votes, and was joined by Ohio State's E.J. Liddell, Michigan's Hunter Dickinson, Purdue's Jaden Ivey, and Indiana's Trayce Jackson-Davis.

No Huskers received preseason all-league votes.

The Big Ten will hold its preseason media days Thursday and Friday in Indianapolis.

Because the Big Ten does not release an official preseason poll, Adam Jardy of the Columbus Dispatch and Brendan Quinn of The Athletic have organized the media poll for the past few years. It consists of 28 total voters — two from each school.

Preseason Big Ten media poll 

1. Michigan (373 points, 13 first-place votes)

2. Purdue (373, 12)

3. Illinois (320, 3)

4. Ohio State (316)

5. Maryland (269)

6. Michigan State (262)

7. Indiana (219)

8. Rutgers (208)

9. Iowa (150)

10. Wisconsin (149)

11. Nebraska (105)

T12. Northwestern (81)

T12. Penn State (81)

14. Minnesota (34)

Preseason player of the year: Kofi Cockburn, Illinois.

Preseason freshman of the year: Caleb Houstan, Michigan.

Preseason all-Big Ten team: Cockburn; E.J. Liddell, Ohio State; Hunter Dickinson, Michigan; Jaden Ivey, Purdue; Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana.

Contact the writer at or 402-473-7436. On Twitter @HuskerExtraCB.


Subscribe for the best Husker news & commentary

  • • Texts from columnists
  • • The most breaking Husker news
  • • Cutting-edge commentary
  • • Husker history photo galleries
Get started

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Assistant sports editor/high schools

A Ravenna native, Chris Basnett joined the Journal Star in 2016 and has more than 20 years of experience covering prep, college, and professional sports.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News