Try 1 month for 99¢
Nebraska vs. Bethune-Cookman, 10/27

Nebraska linebacker Mohamed Barry (7) sacks Bethune-Cookman quarterback David Israel (2) in the second quarter as teammate Ben Stille (95) looks on.

Three Nebraska senior football players earned team awards for standout 2018 campaigns and careers, the school announced Tuesday evening. 

Wide receiver Stanley Morgan was named the team's offensive most valuable player by the coaching staff and also was voted the Guy Chamberlin Trophy by local media. The Chamberlin Trophy is given to the senior who "has shown by his play and contributions to the betterment of the Nebraska football team that he has the qualities and dedication of (Guy) Chamberlin to the Cornhusker tradition." 

Running back Devine Ozigbo was voted by the media as the Tom Novak Award winner, given to the senior who shows "courage and determination despite all odds in the manner of Nebraska All-American center Tom Novak." Ozigbo was also named the weightlifter of the year by the coaching staff. 

Defensive lineman Mick Stoltenberg won the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award. It's given by the coaching staff to the senior who best exemplifies "good work ethic, leadership, forthrightness, sense of humor, pride, loyalty and love of Nebraska." 

In other major team awards, junior linebacker Mohamed Barry was named the defensive MVP after starting all 12 games and leading the team with 112 tackles

Wide receiver Bryan Reimers earned The Cornhusker Award, awarded by the coaching staff, as a walk-on who contributed in his final season. 

Senior outside linebacker Luke Gifford was picked by coaches and medical staff as the winner of the Pat Clare Award, given to the player who has shown "commitment and courage to overcome injury, while at the same time serving as an inspiration to his teammates in his return to the field." 

Additional positional awards went to quarterback Adrian Martinez (offensive back), JD Spielman (receiver), Jerald Foster (offensive line), Khalil Davis (defensive line), Dicaprio Bootle (defensive back), Jeremiah Stovall (special teams), receiver Wyatt Liewer (offensive scout team) and defensive end Ryan Schommer (defensive scout team). 

Contact the writer at or 402-473-7439. On Twitter @HuskerExtraPG.


Sports writer

Parker joined the Journal Star as the University of Nebraska football beat writer in August 2017. He previously covered Montana State athletics for the Bozeman Daily Chronicle and graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 2012.

Load comments