Try 1 month for 99¢
Nebraska vs. Iowa, 11.23

Nebraska wide receiver Stanley Morgan (8) runs downfield before being tackled by Iowa's Jake Gervase near the end zone Friday at Kinnick Stadium in Iowa City, Iowa.

Nebraska was shut out of first-team honors, but a potent offense under first-year head coach Scott Frost yielded several offensive all-conference honorees. 

Senior receiver Stanley Morgan was a second-team All-Big Ten pick by both the league's coaches and media, while receiver JD Spielman was a consensus third-team pick. 

Senior running back Devine Ozigbo was a third-team pick by the media and honorable mention for the coaches. 

Morgan, of course, became the first 1,000-yard receiver in Nebraska history during the final game of his Husker career last week against Iowa. He finished the season with 1,004 yards on 70 catches (14.3 per reception) and hauled in seven touchdowns. 

In his final two seasons, each of which reset the single-season benchmark for yardage at NU, Morgan racked up 1,990 yards and 17 scores. He finishes his career as Nebraska's all-time leader in both catches (189) and yards (2,747). 

Spielman is on the list for the second straight year. He finished with 818 receiving yards and eight touchdowns on 66 catches and set the single-game NU school record with 209 yards against Wisconsin on Oct. 6. 

Ozigbo had a breakthrough senior campaign. He became Nebraska's first 1,000-yard rusher since Ameer Abdullah in 2014 and finished with career-bests in yards (1,082), average (7.0), touchdowns (12), carries (155), catches (23) and receiving yards (203). 

He led the team with 12 rushes of 20-plus yards and finished his final year with 33 "chunk" plays despite not earning the starting role until Week 4. 

Freshman quarterback Adrian Martinez and sophomore left tackle Brenden Jaimes were honorable mention picks for both, while Boe Wilson earned that designation from the media. 

Martinez led all rookies in the nation by averaging 295.1 total yards of offense per game. That number was No. 16 overall in the country and No. 3 in the Big Ten behind Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins — the Big Ten's offensive player of the year and quarterback of the year — and Purdue senior David Blough. 

Martinez was edged for the league's freshman of the year honors by Purdue receiver Rondale Moore, who won that honor and was also the Big Ten's receiver of the year. Moore finished the regular season with 103 catches for 1,164 yards and 12 touchdowns for the Boilermakers. 

The other positional awards went to Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor, Iowa tight end T.J. Hockenson and Wisconsin offensive lineman Michael Dieter. 

Contact the writer at or 402-473-7439. On Twitter @HuskerExtraPG.


Sports writer

Parker joined the Journal Star as the University of Nebraska football beat writer in August 2017. He previously covered Montana State athletics for the Bozeman Daily Chronicle and graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 2012.

Load comments