Former Huskers Scott Raridon, Kris Brown and Adam Carriker will be inducted into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame in September.

“I don’t know if I belong with all those guys or any others, but I sure loved playing there and I love to talk with my teammates about those days,” said Raridon, an All-Big Eight offensive tackle from Mason City, Iowa.

He played alongside Dean Steinkuhler and Mark Traynowicz and helped pave the way for Turner Gill, Irving Fryar and Heisman Trophy winner Mike Rozier.

“We were expected to be good and we were,” said Raridon, whose youngest son, John, is a freshman on the NU team. “I think we lost maybe three games in my three years on varsity. Two of those were for national championships. Three Orange Bowls and a lot of attention.”

Raridon, who played high school football for Barry Alvarez, the former Husker who became Wisconsin coach and later athletic director, was picked by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 1984 NFL Draft. He chose to pursue his master's degree at Notre Dame, then worked as a grad assistant coach and strength-and-development coach for a number of years.

He started his own supply company for hip and knee replacement parts and owns a few other businesses. He recently retired and turned the hip-and-knee business to his son Scott Jr. and former Husker Chad Sievers.

“I think we played so hard and worked so hard because we didn’t want to let Coach Tom Osborne down and, on the line, we’d do anything for coach Milt Tenopir and Clete Fischer.”

Brown, one of the best kickers in NU history, helped the Huskers to national titles in 1995 and 1997. He played on teams that finished a combined 45-6 and led the NU career scoring chart with 388 points.

Brown’s younger brother, Drew, is a kicker for the Huskers now.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Kris Brown, from Southlake, Texas, replaced Darin Erstad, who was the No. 1 draft pick in the Major League Baseball Draft. Brown felt the pressure, and even missed his first PAT attempt, but then made 217 out of his next 221 kicks.

Brown played 12 seasons in the NFL, with Pittsburgh, Houston, San Diego and Houston. He earned all-pro honors with the Texans in 2007.

Carriker was a two-time All-Big 12 defensive end and started 34 games from 2003 to 2006, finishing with 33 tackles for losses of 189 yards. He was named NU's defensive player of the year twice and the Big 12 defensive lineman of the year. He played two seasons with the St. Louis Rams and played for Washington for two seasons. He retired from the NFL in 2015.

Others who will be inducted at the Sept. 9 dinner and ceremonies are:

* The late Dean Sukup (1978-79), who was one of the last straight-ahead kickers at Nebraska. Sukup kicked a pair of 52-yard field goals for the 1975 freshman team and earned All-Big Eight honors as a senior.

* Two-time small-college All-America defensive tackle Fred Davis (1966-67), who helped lead Doane on its famous run of 38 games without a loss under Al Papik.

* Tom and Nancy Heiser will receive the Lyell Bremser Special Merit Award. Tom Heiser was a wingback for the Huskers. The Columbus native is an orthopedic surgeon with Nebraska Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine. He was paralyzed in a swimming accident in Hawaii and continues to work with Nebraska team doctors. Nancy, a former teacher, is a member of the UNL College of Fine and Performing Arts Alumni Board and is a community volunteer.

* Mike and Julie Jacobson of North Platte will receive the Clarence E. Swanson Meritorious Award for years of supporting the University of Nebraska.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7313 or khambleton@journalstar.com. On Twitter @PanchoHam


Ken grew up in Chicago and is a Doane College grad. His Mr. Sportsknowitall column appears Sundays, and he covers a variety of beats.

Load comments