The Nebraska Public Service Commission regulates telecommunications carriers, natural gas utilities, major oil pipelines, railroad safety, passenger carriers (such as taxis and ride-hailing services) and household goods movers, grain warehouses and dealers, modular home and recreational vehicle construction, high-voltage electric transmission lines and private water company rates.

Its five-member board guides commission staff and has the final say on permitting, rate approval, disciplinary actions and other orders issued by the commission.

Board members serve six-year terms. Each member represents a different part of the state. Commissioners are elected on a partisan basis.

This year, two commission seats are up for election.

One is in District 1, which includes Lincoln and covers Lancaster, Gage, Cass, Otoe, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee and Richardson counties. Candidates for the seat being vacated by Commissioner Frank Landis, who is retiring, are Republican Dan Watermeier and Democrat Christa Yoakum.

The other seat is in District 3, which covers Washington, Saunders and Sarpy counties as well as western Douglas County. Candidates for that race include Democrat Mike Forsythe and Republican incumbent Tim Schram.

District 1 candidates

District 3 candidates 

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments