Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
State Historical Society Foundation elects board members

State Historical Society Foundation elects board members

  • 0

The Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation (NSHSF) has elected seven new members to the NSHSF board of directors.

New board members include Brian Croft, Sally Ganem, Roger Lempke, Helen Raikes, Dawn Rockey, Larry Small and Randa Zalman.

“We are very pleased to welcome our seven new members to the board,” said Leslie Fattig, executive director at NSHSF. “These individuals bring a diverse background to the Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation. I am excited to work with them, and I know they will all play a vital role in continuing our mission of preserving Nebraska’s history for future generations.”

Croft has spent the last 15 years teaching composition, literature and Nebraska history at Western Nebraska Community College in Scottsbluff.

Sally Ganem served as Nebraska’s first lady from 2005 to 2015, when her husband, Dave Heineman, was Nebraska’s governor. Ganem currently sits on the Fremont City Council.

Former Lt. Gen. Lempke retired in January 2020 after serving as the director for military affairs for Sens. Deb Fischer and Mike Johanns.

Raikes, Ph.D., is Willa Cather professor emeritus of child, youth and family studies at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Rockey is executive director at Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) for Lancaster County. Rockey has a background in state government and commercial banking.

Small is a Lincoln Community Foundation Trustee and owns Flatwater Toys in Lincoln. Small was the first vice president-facilities and services manager at TierOne Bank.

Zalman is an assistant professor of marketing strategy and MBA programs at Bellevue University. Prior to that, Zalman was a marketing professional, agency principal and entrepreneur.

NSHSF’s new board members will serve a two-year renewable term from 2021-23. They join current board members Trixie Schmidt, Gail DeBuse Potter, Rod Basler, Sue Clement, Martin Massengale, Ryan Sailer and L. Joe Stehlik.

To learn more about the NSHSF, visit


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News