Lincoln Junior Stars earn team and individual honors

Lincoln Junior Stars earn team and individual honors

2019-20 Lincoln Junior Stars hockey team

The 2019-20 Lincoln Junior Stars hockey team.

The Lincoln Junior Stars Junior Varsity hockey team finished first in the 2019-20 Midwest High School Hockey League regular season with a 28-4 record. The varsity team finished the regular season in sixth place with a 21-9-2 record.

Both the varsity and JV teams made it to the State Championship playoffs in Ames, Iowa. Seniors Kane Beerenstrauch, Blake Glaser, Luke Horvath and Payton West participated in the State Championship weekend all four years of their high school hockey careers.

The following Lincoln Junior Stars players received Midwest High School Hockey League All-Star awards for the 2019-20 MHSHL season:

Varsity team: Senior Blake Glaser, First Team, Forwards, No. 1 in the league for points scored All-League First Team; and senior Tyler Schirmer, First Team Defense and All-League First Team.

Junior varsity team: Freshmen Jacob Ehlers and Kyle Catherall were honored for being among the top 10 point leaders for junior varsity teams.

The Junior Stars hockey team consists of high school players from seven high schools: Lincoln Southeast, Lincoln Southwest, Lincoln North Star, Lincoln East, Lincoln Piux X, Kearney High School and Minden High School.

Of the 428 players in the Midwest High School Hockey League, 236 received academic certificates for a 3.0 grade-point average (GPA) or above. Forty-four seniors will graduate with a 3.5 GPA or above.

Lincoln Junior Stars seniors who were presented with the President's Senior Academic Achievement Award were Kane Beerenstrauch, Blake Glaser, Luke Horvath, Tyler Schirmer and Landan Wagner.

Junior Stars players who were presented with Academic Certificates for 3.0 GPA or above are Kumo Babe, Owen Barrow, Kane Beerenstrauch, Harrison Boesch, Trey Bohl, Carson Catherall, Kyle Catherall, Bodie Duffy, Jacob Ehlers, Connor Eitzmann, Lucas Epperson, Blake Glaser, Luke Horvath, Colin Kreifels, Austen Madsen, Zachary Maret, Andrew Olsen, Jacye Polivka, Tyler Schirmer, Heath Topil and Landan Wagner.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News