You are the owner of this article.
Six more Nebraska counties, Santee Sioux Nation now eligible for disaster relief
editor's pick

Six more Nebraska counties, Santee Sioux Nation now eligible for disaster relief

Peru flooding, 3.17

The street sign at the intersection of Sycamore and Fifth streets pokes above the water Sunday in Peru.

Residents and business owners in six additional counties may now apply for disaster assistance for damage resulting from severe winter storms and the recent flooding across the state. 

Boone, Buffalo, Custer, Knox, Richardson and Thurston counties, along with the Santee Sioux Nation, are now eligible to apply, bringing the total number of counties eligible for individual assistance to 15. 

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) encourage those impacted to report their damages to local emergency management. 

To apply, visit or call FEMA's toll free registration at 800-621-3362.

Previously, these counties were designated for FEMA Individual Assistance: Butler, Cass, Colfax, Dodge, Douglas, Nemaha, Sarpy, Saunders and Washington.

As of Saturday, 65 counties and five tribal areas have been designated for public assistance within the Nebraska disaster declaration for emergency work. Of those, 54 have been reviewed for permanent work and 15 are pending review for permanent work.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7223 or

On Twitter @zacharypenrice1


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

City desk intern

Spring semester city desk intern at the Journal Star.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News