Try 1 month for 99¢

The 2006 Nebraska Book Awards winners will be honored Saturday at the Nebraska Book Festival at Nebraska Wesleyan University.

The program, sponsored by the Nebraska Center for the Book, recognizes and honors books that are written by Nebraska authors, published by Nebraska publishers, set in Nebraska, or concern Nebraska.

This year’s winners are:

Anthology: “Slamma Lamma Ding Dong: An Anthology of Nebraska’s Slam Poets,” editors: J.M. Huscher, Matt Mason, Dan Leamen, iUniverse, Inc.

Children/Young Adult: “The Nebraska Adventure,” by Jean A. Lukesh, Gibbs Smith

Cover/Design/Illustration: “These Trespasses,” by Jim Reese, The Backwaters Press

Fiction: “This Is Not the Tropics,” by Ladette Randolph, University of Wisconsin Press

Nonfiction: “Impertinences: Selected Writings of Elia Peattie, a Journalist in the Gilded Age,” by Elia W. Peattie, edited by Susanne George Bloomfield, University of Nebraska Press

Nonfiction Honor Book: “Rainmakers: A Photographic Story of Center Pivots,” by The Groundwater Foundation

Poetry: “No Accident,” by Aaron Anstett, The Backwaters Press

The Nebraska Center for the Book is housed at the Nebraska Library Commission and brings together the state’s readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, publishers, printers, educators, and scholars to support programs to celebrate and stimulate public interest in books, reading and the written word.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments