Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Lincoln High School Athletic Hall of Fame will induct 22 individuals, the 2003 state champion boys basketball team and the 1925 state champion football team at a 6:45 p.m. dinner Thursday, Sept. 20, at the Lincoln Train Station.

The induction banquet will begin at 5:30 p.m. with a social hour, followed by dinner and the awards program. Tickets are $25 and can be purchased by calling the Lincoln High School Athletic Office, 402-436-1536.

Inductees will also be recognized Friday, Sept. 21 at the Lincoln High Homecoming football game, which begins at 6 p.m. at Beechner Athletic Complex.

This year’s inductees

2003 State Champion Boys Basketball Team:

Coach – Russ Uhing.

Assistant Coaches – Sam Sharpe, Gary Nunnally, Richard Jackson, David Dyson, Brett Schnabel, Bob Mersed, Matt Zajicek.

Team members – Jake Brestel, Tyron Canby, Collin Hute, David Crabtree, Nolan Day, Matt Kirkland, Nick Madsen, Guy Perkins, Marcus Minzel, Seth Sharpe, Bandak Chei, Preston Peterson.

1925 State Champion Football Team:

Coach – William “W.H.” Browne

Team members – Wayne Alvord, Claude Austin, Dale Austin, Harvey Bauer, Glen Brown, Dale Eaton, Morris Fisher, Bill Folger, Harold Hussey, Dale Kimmel, Howard Kitchen, George “Dutch” Koster, Phil Maser, Clark “Bud” McBride, Lawrence McCarthy, Berne Packer, Harry Plock, Bob Raugh, Bill Rosenberg, Richard Skoid, Dick Still, Adolph Stroh, Ernie Tindall, Ralph Townsend, Willard “Dutch” Witte

The individual inductees:

Ron Bayless: Baseball (1955)

Albert Beams (deceased): Track (1908)

Shelly Chiles: Volleyball, Basketball (2000)

Bill Edwards (deceased): Swimming (1938)

Cora Fox-Scott (deceased): Girls Athletic Association Cup Award (1935)

Mike Gaither: Basketball, Track (1990)

Dave Hamersky: Football, Baseball (1979)

Dan Harris (deceased): Basketball, Golf (1971)

Kurt Holliday: Cross Country, Track (1991)

Kate Howard: Basketball, Soccer (1997)

Jim Hunt: Swimming (1967)

Mike Little: Baseball (1983)

Alan Muthersbaugh: Football, Track (1983)

Dick Piderit (deceased): Football, Track (1944)

Terry Sapp: Cross Country, Track (1957)

John Schreiber: Football (1951)

Mel Simpson: Wrestling Coach (1962-1976)

Henry Sommerholder (deceased): Football, Track (1906)

Tammie Trouba-Noonan: Basketball (1987)

Bill Weber (deceased): Track (1925)

Nate Woods: Basketball (1978)

TJ McDowell: Special Recognition Award

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

L Magazine editor

Load comments