Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. House of Representatives

From the The 2020 Journal Star Voter's Guide: Primary edition series

Nebraska holds three seats in the U.S. House of Representatives. Eastern Nebraska's 1st District includes Lincoln; the 2nd District includes Omaha; and the 3rd District encompasses western and central Nebraska, along with the northeastern and southeastern corners of the state.

The three incumbents, all of whom are Republicans, are seeking reelection. Members of Congress receive $174,000 annually.

In the 1st District, Rep. Jeff Fortenberry is unopposed for the Republican nomination. Democrats Babs Ramsey of Bellevue and Kate Bolz of Lincoln, a state senator, are seeking the Democratic nomination. Dennis Grace is a Libertarian candidate from Fremont.

Rep. Don Bacon of Papillion is opposed by Paul Anderson of Omaha in the 2nd District Republican primary election. Three Omaha Democrats — Kara Eastman, Ann Ashford and Gladys Harrison — are seeking their party's nomination. Tyler Schaeffer of Omaha is a Libertarian candidate.

In the 3rd District, Rep. Adrian Smith faces four Republican challengers — Larry Lee Scott Bolinger of Alliance, William Elfgren of Overton, Justin Moran of Atkinson and Arron Kowalski of Grand Island.

Mark Elworth Jr., of Omaha is seeking the Democratic nomination and Dustin C. Hobbs of Grand Island is a Libertarian candidate.

U.S. House candidates:



Get Government & Politics updates in your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News