UNL logo

Chancellor Ronnie Green hopes the University of Nebraska-Lincoln can capitalize on a "once-in-every-150-year opportunity" leading up to the university's sesquicentennial celebration next year.

Green has launched the Nebraska Commission of 150, a committee of faculty, students, staff and stakeholders to draft a "bold-thinking vision document that governs how we live."

The commission will build upon the work done by four strategic-planning committees last year to envision UNL's future over the next 25 years.

Those committees developed strategies centered on student success, retention and enrollment; budget models, scholarship and creative activity; and achieving distinction in the Big Ten Conference.

A new executive committee led by Executive Vice Chancellor Donde Plowman and history professor Will Thomas will lead the project.

A total of 125 people will be appointed to seven subcommittees to focus on specific areas: mission and values; student experience; research, scholarship and creative activity; engagement in Nebraska and beyond; economic development and innovation; internal operations and infrastructure; and campus community and faculty roles.

UNL hired the Los Angeles-based Academic Leadership Associates to guide the Commission of 150. A spokeswoman said no state funds will be used to compensate the advisory firm.

Members of the Nebraska Commission of 150 announced earlier this week include:

* Jim Alfano, professor of plant pathology.

* Katherine Ankerson, architecture dean.

* Ayat Aribi, ASUN representative.

* Tammy Beck, business associate dean.

* Laurie Bellows, vice chancellor for student affairs.

* Layton Brooks, director of compensation, employment and employee relations.

* Tom Field, director of Engler Agribusiness Entrepreneurship Program.

* Eileen Hebets, professor of biological sciences.

* Tiffany Heng-Moss, agricultural sciences and natural resources dean.

* Matt Jockers, arts and sciences associate dean.

* Marc LeBaron, Lincoln Industries chairman and CEO.

* Daniel Linzell, civil engineering chair.

* Liz Lorang, associate professor of libraries.

* Jane Miller, Gallup chief operating officer.

* Richard Moberly, law dean.

* Jeff Rudy, Faculty Senate representative.

* Susan Sheridan, professor of educational psychology.

* Harris Smith, Johnny Carson School of Theatre and Film director.

* Joe Starita, professor of journalism.

UNL will also appoint the vice chancellor for research and economic development to the commission, as well as a representative of the Graduate Student Assembly.

The full commission will begin its work later this month.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7120 or cdunker@journalstar.com.

On Twitter @ChrisDunkerLJS.


Load comments