The Lincoln Board of Education — with a new member elected earlier this month — chose its leaders for the coming year Monday night.

At the annual organizational meeting, the seven board members elected Lanny Boswell as board president and Connie Duncan as vice president.

Duncan served as president this year.

Don Mayhew was elected president of the Educational Service Unit, which handles much of the district’s professional development, assessment and evaluation work. Bob Rauner, the newest board member, was elected vice president.

Sign up for our daily news email

The top headlines from JournalStar.com. Delivered at 11 a.m. Monday-Friday.

Voters elected Rauner to replace former board member Matt Schulte, who did not run for reelection. Annie Mumgaard won reelection to her second term. Other board members are Kathy Danek and Barb Baier.

The board also voted to make Sarah Salem, LPS director of continuous improvement and professional learning, the ESU administrator. 



Education reporter

Margaret Reist is a Lincoln native, the mom of three high school graduates now navigating college and an education junkie who covers students, teachers and policymakers inside and outside the K-12 classroom.

Load comments