Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Nebraska State Board of Education

Nebraska State Board of Education

From the 2018 Lincoln Journal Star Voter's Guide — General Election Edition series
  • Updated
  • 0
Nebraska Board of Education districts

The State Board of Education sets state education policy and regulations and oversees the Nebraska Department of Education.

The state is divided into eight districts, each represented by a board member elected in a nonpartisan race. They serve four-year terms and are not paid but are reimbursed for expenses.

Two candidates are running for District 5, which covers 16 Southeast Nebraska counties plus a portion of Lancaster County. Incumbent Patricia Timm of Beatrice is being challenged by Maris Bentley of Plattsmouth. 

Three other seats are up for election, including District 6, which includes 18 counties in the central part of the state and including the cities of Grand Island, Hastings, York and O'Neill; District 7 in western Nebraska; and District 8, which includes a portion of Douglas County.

Of those races, just one is contested, with District 8 incumbent Pat McPherson of Omaha being challenged by Deborah Neary of Omaha. District 6 incumbent Maureen Nickels of Chapman is running unopposed, as is Robin Stevens of Gothenburg in District 7. District 7 incumbent Molly O'Holleran is not running for re-election. 

District 5 candidates



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News