Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Lower Platte South Natural Resources District

Lower Platte South Natural Resources District

From the 2018 Lincoln Journal Star Voter's Guide — General Election Edition series
  • Updated
  • 0
Lower Platte South NRD subdistricts

The Lower Platte South Natural Resources District covers about 1,600 square miles in Southeast Nebraska, including most of Lancaster and Cass counties and parts of Otoe, Seward, Butler and Saunders counties.

Its 21-member board of directors guides the district's involvement in conservation-related areas including water quality and quantity, soil erosion, wildlife habitat, wetland protection, flood control, recreational lakes and trails and environmental education.

Board members serve four-year terms. One board member is elected at large; the others represent subdistricts. Each subdistrict has two seats on the board, with one seat up for election every two years.

This year, Subdistrict 8 has both seats up for election. Dan Steinkruger is seeking a two-year term to the seat he was appointed to halfway through the four-year term of director Larry Hall, who died in March 2017. The four-year seat is being sought by Tom Green.

The only contested race is Subdistrict 1, where incumbent Gary Hellerich is facing challenger Mechelle Sky Walker.

Uncontested candidates are Mark G. Spangler (Subdistrict 2), Vern Barrett (Subdistrict 3), Larry Ruth (Subdistrict 4), Bruce Johnson (Subdistrict 5), Deborah Eagan (Subdistrict 6), Luke Peterson (Subdistrict 7) Steinkruger and Green (Subdistrict 8), Robert C. Andersen (Subdistrict 9), Karen S. Amen (Subdistrict 10) and David M. Landis (at large). All uncontested candidates, with the exception of Peterson, are incumbents.

Directors receive a $60 per diem for attending meetings and other duties, and the total amount cannot exceed $3,600 annually.

Subdistrict 1 candidates



Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News