Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Gov. Pete Ricketts will have a long list of applicants to sort through in deciding a replacement for Bill Kintner, who resigned last week under pressure from the Legislature.

Thirty-five residents of legislative District 2 in Southeast Nebraska applied for the job in the unicameral Legislature. 

Eleven of the applicants are from Plattsmouth and six from Papillion, where Kintner was from. Seven are women. 

Kintner resigned Wednesday, months after a cybersex scandal first threatened to end his legislative career, and after years of complaints about his behavior in office.

It appeared that Kintner might survive all that, until recent weeks when the conservative senator retweeted what many considered to be an insult to women who had recently marched in Washington D.C., across the country and the world.

Kintner resigned minutes before fellow senators were scheduled to debate expelling him from office.

Gov. Pete Ricketts has said he plans to act swiftly to name a replacement so that the people of District 2 have a voice in this legislative session, according to his spokesman, Taylor Gage.

The applicants include two who ran against Kintner in the last District 2 election. They are Mel Luetchens of Murdock, a retired United Methodist minister and former executive director of Interchurch Ministries of Nebraska, and Ron Nolte of Plattsmouth, a former Cass County commissioner and farmer.

These are the applicants and their residences.

Ashland: Joel Kirby, Perry Pirsch;

Beaver Lake: Ray Nesbitt;

Cedar Creek: John Winkler;

Eagle: James R. Peterson;

Elmwood are: Marsha Babcock; 

Louisville: Don Eckles, Karen Harvey Holmes; 

Murdock: Thomas Burtch, Dawn R. Josoff Jacobsen, Mel Luetchens; 

Murray: Travis Benning;

Nebraska City: Kent Blum;

Nehawka: Rebecca Gribben; 

Papillion: Chad Carr, Brandon Grimm, Cynthia Lorass, Michelle McCullough, Theodore Vasko, Russell L. Zeeb;

Plattsmouth: Patrick Diederich, Richard Dreesman, Patrick Dugan, Timothy Dunlap, James Harrold, Bradley K. Kassube, Gary Mason, Janet McCartney, Ron Nolte, Gregg Rhoades, Eddie Utterback; 

Springfield: Kyle Fisher, David Kentsmith, Stephen L. Smith;

Weeping Water: Michael Barrett.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Reach the writer at 402-473-7228 or

On Twitter @LJSLegislature.


State government reporter

JoAnne Young covers state government, including the Legislature and state agencies, and the people they serve.

Load comments