Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Edit
Book review: Book has appeal for fans of Lincoln, baseball
0 Comments

Book review: Book has appeal for fans of Lincoln, baseball

  • Updated
  • 0
Behind in the Count

"Behind in the Count" by Kent Krause, Kodar Publishing, 232 pages, $12.95 paperback

The boys of summer are on the diamond, and local author Kent Krause is back on the bookshelves with his third sports-themed novel.

"Behind in the Count" follows the life of an aging major league pitcher who is trying to work his way back to the show. Zane Fischer has lost not only his roster spot, but his family. Injury, addiction and tragedy have taken their toll.

His one last chance brings the former Cy Young winner to the fictional Lincoln Giants, an independent minor league team in the Central States League that plays at Sherman Field.

Fischer has a lot to learn during that summer of 1998. He is introduced to Zesto and daVinci's and to the fickle nature of the knuckleball. He also gets a few lessons from the Giants' manager, who was his former major league teammate, and from his teenage daughter, who lives in Lincoln with Fischer's ex-wife.

Like Krause's previous books, "Behind in the Count" is a tale of redemption. The book has special appeal for fans of both baseball and of Lincoln. Though the plot is as slow as a manager's walk to the mound, hang in there; Krause saves some of his good stuff for the final chapters.

Cindy Conger is a freelance writer who lives in Lincoln.

0 Comments
0
0
0
0
0

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

It's been only a few months since I took on the monumental task of organizing my books, and once again, they are a mess. Last September, I went through every book in the house and decided on what to keep and what to give. The "to give" pile turned into dozens of piles, bags and boxes, filling our front porch. I hauled tables out into the front yard, invited friends and neighbors to stop by, ...

Sure, Prince William’s tweets made international news after the Euro 2020 soccer championships. But his brother, Harry, is on a mission to craft his own narrative, one far longer than 280 characters. Backed by Penguin Random House, the younger prince will publish an “intimate and heartfelt” memoir on the life, lessons and losses that have shaped him, tentatively planned for release in late ...

FICTION: A thrilling debut in which a pilot must crash his plane to save his family. "Falling" by T.J. Newman; Avid Reader Press (304 pages, $28) ——— Early into "Falling," and not long into a flight from Los Angeles to New York, the pilot-protagonist Bill Hoffman takes a calculated risk and confides in a hushed tone to his friend. "Jo," he whispers. "We have a situation." Which is something of ...

FICTION: A migrant child washes up on a beach — alive — in Omar El Akkad's follow-up to "American War." "What Strange Paradise" by: Omar El Akkad; Alfred A. Knopf (256 pages, $25.95) ——— In his 2017 debut novel, "American War," Omar El Akkad spotlighted Middle East humanitarian crises by reimagining them on U.S. soil. Perhaps, the novel implied, Americans might pay refugees and sectarian ...

The Barack Obama and Bruce Springsteen brotherhood of man mission continues. “Renegades,” the podcast collaboration between the former president and the Boss has been repurposed and will be released as a book this fall. “Renegades: Born in the USA,” the book adaptation, will be released Oct. 26, Penguin Random House announced on Thursday. The 320-page tome will retail for $50 and include ...

In Maggie Nelson’s “Bluets,” her 2009 collection of poems on grief and loss, loneliness is “solitude with a problem.” Which is a useful way of understanding loneliness. Being alone and feeling lonely are not always the same thing. Except, of course, it’s complicated. Emily Dickinson wondered: Was loneliness “the maker of the soul”? Or its “seal”? Does loneliness define you? Or exacerbate ...

"Seeing Serena" by Gerald Marzorati; Scribner (272 pages, $26) ——— Game, set, matchless. For years, no one could touch Serena Williams. She’s won a record 365 women’s singles matches at major tournaments, four Olympic gold medals, and was ranked best women’s singles player in the world eight times. And the last time, in January 2017, she not only reached that honor at 35 — the oldest female ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News