Book review: Book has appeal for fans of Lincoln, baseball

Book review: Book has appeal for fans of Lincoln, baseball

{{featured_button_text}}
Behind in the Count

"Behind in the Count" by Kent Krause, Kodar Publishing, 232 pages, $12.95 paperback

The boys of summer are on the diamond, and local author Kent Krause is back on the bookshelves with his third sports-themed novel.

"Behind in the Count" follows the life of an aging major league pitcher who is trying to work his way back to the show. Zane Fischer has lost not only his roster spot, but his family. Injury, addiction and tragedy have taken their toll.

His one last chance brings the former Cy Young winner to the fictional Lincoln Giants, an independent minor league team in the Central States League that plays at Sherman Field.

Fischer has a lot to learn during that summer of 1998. He is introduced to Zesto and daVinci's and to the fickle nature of the knuckleball. He also gets a few lessons from the Giants' manager, who was his former major league teammate, and from his teenage daughter, who lives in Lincoln with Fischer's ex-wife.

Like Krause's previous books, "Behind in the Count" is a tale of redemption. The book has special appeal for fans of both baseball and of Lincoln. Though the plot is as slow as a manager's walk to the mound, hang in there; Krause saves some of his good stuff for the final chapters.

Cindy Conger is a freelance writer who lives in Lincoln.

0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

"Naked Came the Florida Man" by Tim Dorsey; Morrow (336 pages, $26.99) ___ The Florida Man (or woman) is known far and wide for his (or her) restraint, on-point behavior and mental acuity. OK, just kidding. The antics of Florida Man (or woman) are well known, so it's amazing that Tim Dorsey whose novels are tailor-made for this creature has never used the term in a title before. Each of ...

  • Updated

Even before Jeanine Cummins' "American Dirt" was published on Tuesday, a cloud of controversy was swirling around the author and her book. In recent days, Twitter has exploded with Latino and Latina writers accusing the author of everything from cultural appropriation to pandering to the tastes of a white audience to indulging in harmful stereotypes. And yet, "American Dirt" has been embraced ...

Rankings for hardcover books sold in Southern California, as reported by selected bookstores: ___ Fiction 1. "On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous," by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press: $26) A son in his late 20s writes a letter to his mother, who cannot read, unearthing a family's history rooted in Vietnam. 2. "The Dutch House," by Ann Patchett (Harper: $27.99) The lives of a brother and sister lives ...

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News