Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Health Director Pat Lopez named Woman of the Year
editor's pick alert top story

Health Director Pat Lopez named Woman of the Year

Inspire Awards, 9.16

Wednesday's Inspire event honored women leaders in a number of categories.

Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Director Pat Lopez, who has been the face of local efforts to combat the unprecedented coronavirus pandemic, has been named the Woman of the Year.

Lopez, who had been working as the interim director but was formally appointed to the position last month after her authority was challenged, received the honor Wednesday during the sixth annual Inspire -- Celebrating Women's Leadership Awards at the Embassy Suites.

Mayor press conference

Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Director Pat Lopez is this year's Woman of the Year.

The Inspire Awards are presented by the Lincoln Journal Star in partnership with the University of Nebraska and Union Bank & Trust.

She worked at the Health Department from 1975 to 2004, then worked as a consultant before returning to the department in May 2019 when then-Director Shavonna Lausterer took medical leave before dying of breast cancer.

Lopez has been instrumental in the city and county's efforts to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, which have included starting a risk dial that has since been adopted by numerous other organizations and instituting a mask mandate.

She was not able to attend Wednesday's awards ceremony. Her daughter, who accepted the award for her, said she is recovering from a sinus infection.

Watch Now: Lancaster County Board approves appointment of Pat Lopez as health director
Maskless testifiers oppose health director's appointment, but council approves her anyway

Other women honored Wednesday were:

Support Local Journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.

* Diane Temme of TMCO Inc., Excellence in Business (large businesses)

* Aletta McClendon of Zen Salon and Physical Wellness, Excellence in Business (small/medium businesses)

* Helen Abdali Soosan Fagan of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Excellence in Education

* Susan Larson Rodenburg of SLR Communications, Excellence in Entrepreneurship

* State Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks of Brooks of Pansing Brooks Law, Excellence in Government Service

* Karen McGivney-Liechti of CHI Birth Center, Excellence in Healthcare

* Alynn Sampson of the Food Bank of Lincoln, Excellence in Nonprofit

* Holly Ostergard of Crete Carrier Corp., Excellence in Philanthropy

* Zainab Funnah of the Black is Beautiful Campaign, Founders Award

* Evada Palmer of Lincoln High School, Future Business Leader

The 2020 Inspire Award winners

Reach the writer at 402-473-2647 or

On Twitter @LincolnBizBuzz.


The business news you need

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Business reporter

Matt Olberding is a Lincoln native and University of Nebraska-Lincoln graduate who has been covering business for the Journal Star since 2005.

Related to this story

  • Updated

The 2020 Inspire Awards took place on Wednesday, September 16 in front of an invitation-only crowd of 150 people at Embassy Suites. The ceremo…

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News

Husker News