Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Midland vs. Concordia, GPAC women's hoops, 2/22

Concordia forward Philomena Lammers (52) and Midland guard Joelle Overkamp (24) battle for the loose ball in the first half on Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2017, at Walz Arena. FRANCIS GARDLER, Journal Star


The Concordia women's basketball team claimed three of the four postseason honors and had three players named first-team all-conference when the Great Plains Athletic Conference announced its postseason awards.

Mary Janovich was named defensive player of the year, Philly Lammers was the GPAC freshman of the year and head coach Drew Olson was the conference coach of the year.

Quinn Wragge joined Janovich and Lammers on the first team and three additional Bulldogs — Dani Andersen, Shelby Quinn and Erin Vieselmeyer — were honorable mention.

Concordia received one of four top seeds in the NAIA Division II bracket, which  also was announced Wednesday. The Bulldogs (31-2) will face Bryan (Tennessee) College (18-14) at noon March 9 in Sioux City, Iowa.

Doane's Hana Barnard was named the GPAC player of the year after rewriting portions of the Tiger record book this season. The Beatrice graduate set the school scoring records for single-game (38) and single-season (647), the latter previously held by Mari Maaske from the 1995-96 season. Barnard's 20.9 points per game made her the first Doane player to average more than 20 points in a season. She finished with 1,733 career points to move into fourth all-time on the Doane scoring charts, and her 252 made three-pointers ranks second all-time.

Concordia senior Chandler Folkerts, a Milford graduate, was named the GPAC men's defensive player of the year. The Midland duo of Damon Overton and Alex Starkel both joined Folkerts on the first team. Doane's Nate Kuhl was second-team, along with Concordia's Eli Ziegler.

Midland earned a No. 6 seed for the NAIA Division II men's tournament, with York (seeded seventh) and Bellevue (seeded sixth) also qualifying for the tournament.

Creighton collects All-Big East honors

Creighton sophomore Audrey Faber was named first-team All-Big East and Marissa Janning was second-team when the conference announced its women's basketball postseason honors.

Brianna Rollerson was named the co-most improved player and Jaylyn Agnew was the conference freshman of the year. Lauren Works, a Lincoln Southwest graduate, received the conference's sportsmanship award.

The Bluejays open Big East Tournament play at noon Sunday. Second-seeded Creighton faces the winner of Butler vs. Xavier.


Load comments