A total of seven state champions, including four-timer Christian Miller of Plainview, and another seven state runners-up highlight the rosters for the Nebraska Scholastic Wrestling Coaches Association all-star dual.

Miller and Omaha Skutt's Korbin Meink became the 27th and 28th four-time state champions this past February at the state championships in Omaha.

Area state champions include Wahoo's Cole Krecklow (Class B 220), Raymond Central's Grant Albrecht (Class C 145) and High Plains' Kyle Stevens (Class D170). Albrecht is joined by teammate Monte Mumm, the Class B 132 runner-up, and Stevens is joined by twin brother Payton, who was the Class D 182 runner-up.

The event will take place on June 3 in Grand Island, with the NWSCA hall of fame banquet the night before on June 2.


*-state champ; ^-state runner-up

Class A: Aweys Salat, Omaha Bryan; Conner Willey, Papillion-La Vista South; Cy Marshall, Columbus; Jayden Songster, North Platte; Maison Clark, Papillion-La Vista South; ^Zac Charity, Millard South.

Class B: Carter Thompson, Aurora; *Cole Krecklow, Wahoo/Cedar Bluffs; ^Damian Green, Fairbury; Dylan James, West Point-Beemer; Eric Langan, McCook; ^Joe Ritzen, Chadron; ^Josh Pokorny, Bennington; *Riley Berg, West Point-Beemer.

Class C: Ben Metzler, Tekamah-Herman; *Clayton Glendy, Broken Bow; Gavin Trompke, Ord; *Grant Albrecht, Raymond Central; Moises Barboza, Wakefield; ^Monte Mumm, Raymond Central; Ryan Worm, David City; Trenton Elliott, Tekamah-Herman.

Class D: ^Brody Lewis, Franklin; *Christian Miller, Plainview; Connor Hazen, Creighton; Dominique Rickard, Plainview; *Kyle Stevens, High Plains; ^Payton Stevens, High Plains; Salvador Aguirre, Amherst; Trent Christiancy, Franklin; *Tyler Gideon, Burwell; Zac Hazen, Creighton.

NSWCA all-star coaches: Jeremy Hlavac, Schuyler; Nic Umscheid, McCook; Derek Garfield, Fairbury; Derek Keasling, Aurora; Ray Maxwell, West Point-Beemer; Cale Streeter, Hershey; Norm Manstedt, High Plains; Ryan Hoffman, Franklin; Jake Gideon, Burwell.

NSWCA award winners

Vern Ekfelt coaches of the year

Class A: Ty Swarm, Kearney

Class B: Matt Bruggeman

Class C: Shane Allison, Valentine

Class D: Mike Max and Luke Gideon, Burwell

Assistant coach of the year: Jeff Barry, Adams Central.

Guy Mytty senior wrestler awards

Class A: Colton Wolfe, Columbus

Class B: Korbin Meink, Omaha Skutt

Class C: Jason Hahlbeck, O’Neill

Class D: Christian Miller, Plainview

Norm Manstedt outstanding wrestler award: Christian Miller, Plainview.


Load comments