Elementary School Division

Kahoa Elementary students continued their dominance in project and science areas. They won second place in Elementary School Sweepstakes (Total Score) trophy.

Kahoa Elementary won the top seven of 11 awards in grades K-2  Science Display competition led by Isabelle Schubert (grade 2), Callum Encinger (kdg), and Ashley Habel (kdg). They also won the top six of eight places in grades 3-5 science display, led by third grader Malcolm Sattler, MacKenzie and Preston Pike (5th & 3rd grades), and Brenna and Spencer Stephens (3rd grade). Kahoa kids Malcolm Sattler (3rd grade), Annabeth Schubert (5th grade), and Ella Steffens (5th grade) placed second, fourth, and eighth respectively in the Science Test competition. Annabeth, Malcolm and Addison Mirabella won many ribbons in the testing competitions and their efforts were bolstered by the school’s annual strength in project areas like snowflake cutting, Brick Art (lego projects), Health posters, and the intricate zen coloring pages. Kahoa has been 1st or 2nd for all eight years that Grand Island has hosted the Nebraska State Fair. With her many testing victories, Annabeth Schubert earned a second place trophy for herself in the Individual Total Score competition.

Lincoln had a number total of elementary schools with entries from Calvert, Hill, Kloefkorn, Maxey, Meadowlane, Morley Elementary, and Pyrtle . 

Chase County School won the first place Sweepstakes trophy for the Elementary School Division and Engleman Public School won the third place trophy.

Middle School Division

Lincoln’s Mickle Middle School, last year’s third place Sweepstakes (Total Score) winner, won first place this year. Kids who have thrived on the Nebraska State Fair Education Competition since kindergarten when they had their first Kahoa science fair project chosen to compete at the Fair entered projects to pad Mickle's total score. Olivia Swanson and Ashlynn Rasmussen won total score trophies, third and sixth places respectively,. They spent the better part of the summer cutting snowflakes, making health posters, writing essays and poetry. Both girls competed for Mickle; they are now Lincoln Northeast High School freshmen.

Current Mickle eighth grader Zachary Schubert and seventh grader Holly Stoebner also contributed to the team win. All four of these students won a wide variety competitions. They were assisted in Live competitions by 9th graders Kennedy Chase, Sophie Mirabella, Ella Brooks; 8th graders Rose Jorgenson, Zach Kozak, and Monty Meyer. Winning the championship is even more the wonder because it was a small, dedicated group who worked together with a balance of testing and projects. This team demonstrated that they could “do it all” with convincing awards and participation in all areas of competition.

Chase County, which won the Elementary School Division, won second place. The third place Middle School Sweepstakes (Total Score) trophy was won by Lincoln’s Lux Middle School. They excelled in their testing abilities, especially the Math competitors with Clarissa Tan (current Lux 8th grade) winning second, followed by Ben Rossman (current Lux 8th grade), and current East High 9th graders Ealynn Hsu and Aiden Nelson, Southwest High 9th grader Kenji Nakagawa, and Lux 8th grader Ian Meyer in third through seventh places respectively. Competing for Lux, Kenji, Aiden and East High’s 9th graders Drew Huscher and Lucas Chen earned awards in Live competitions like the social studies test, cipher down, quiz bowl and construction science. In the project competitions, Drew Huscher won the middle school science display competition. His project was chosen for a NEBRASKAland statewide tour and his short story was the top story in the middle school division. Projects were also entered (and placed well) by Kimberly Johnson, Sasket Reddy, Madalyn Abele, and Sophie Tan.

Other Lincoln middle schools participating included Scott Middle School and a team from Lincoln Christian. Although they lacked enough students for a competitive team score, these schools were well represented with energetic, ambitious students who spent the entire testing day from 8 a.m. until the awards were given late in the afternoon.


Load comments