Friday was the first day candidates could file for the 2018 elections.

Candidates for federal and state offices file with the Nebraska Secretary of State, whose office is on the second floor of the state Capitol.

Candidates for the following offices must file with the Lancaster County Election Commissioner, 601 N. 46th St., Lincoln: county board (Districts 1, 3 and 5), county clerk, clerk of the district court, county treasurer, county sheriff, county attorney, public defender, county engineer and assessor/register of deeds.

Candidates for Hickman mayor, the Hickman and Waverly city councils, village boards of trustees, and the Malcolm, Norris, Palmyra and Waverly school boards also file with the Lancaster County Election Commissioner.

Candidate qualification requirements, filing forms and filing fee information are available on the Election Commissioner’s website: More information: 402-441-7311.