Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Mayor Chris Beutler and the Lincoln Arts Council have announced the winners of the 2018 Mayor’s Arts Awards.

The awards will be formally presented May 1 at Pinnacle Bank Arena.

This year’s honorees include:

Outstanding Arts Organization — Burkholder Project, 719 P St.

Artistic Achievement, visual arts — Shelley Thornton, doll artist

Artistic Achievement, performing arts — Jackie Allen, jazz vocalist and teacher

Artistic Achievement, youth — Mackenzie Davenport, Lincoln High senior

Artistic Achievement, literary arts — L. Kent Wolgamott, Journal Star arts writer

Gladys Lux Education — Feifei Jiang, concert pianist and teacher

The Legacy of the Arts — Julia Noyes, visual artist and teacher

Heart of the Arts — Peggy Gomez, visual artist

The ArtScene Backstage — Eileen Brewster

Outstanding Event — Nebraska by Heart, public art project

Benefactor of the Arts — Don Campbell

Lincoln Community Foundation Arts for Kids — Lincoln Children’s Museum, 1420 P St.

Mayor’s Choice — Francisco Souto, visual artist and UNL faculty member

Enersen Urban Design — Capitol Environs Committee for the renovation of Nebraska’s Centennial Mall

The event will also honor recipients of the Kimmel Foundation Emerging Artist Awards — Hannah Demma, visual artist, and Ivan Young, writer

The 40th annual event, which is open to the public, begins with a reception at 5:30 p.m. and includes a dinner, awards presentation and winners’ reception.

The event will include a performance by performing arts winner Jackie Allen. The emcee is KFRX radio host DeWayne Taylor.

Tickets cost $75. Reservations may be made through the Lincoln Arts Council at 402-434-2787 or Corporate tables and sponsorship opportunities are also available. The Winners’ Reception after the program will be on the terrace outside the arena; tickets cost $5 in advance and $10 at the door. Members of the public do not need to attend the ceremony to attend the reception.

The public is encouraged to submit names and photos of members of the Lincoln arts community who have died since the last awards ceremony in June 2017 for memorial recognition at the awards event.  Information may be sent to


Load comments